PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Excel tables pasted on different pages in Word

kathyb0527
12-13-2007, 03:05 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm just learning how to develop code, so I'm not sure that this can even be done. I need to take a table that will span several pages and paste it into word as a word table. However, the table title needs to be included on each page and cannot be a part of the table.

Thank you for any help you can give!

:confused:
I just reread my own post and realized that it's very confusing. Let's try again. I have a very long excel table that needs to be pasted into Word as a Word table (it will span several pages). The table titles in the word document need to be included on each page and cannot be a part of the table.
I am thinking that I need to write something to split the table in Excel then use bookmarks (?) or mailmerge (?) to create a document.

Thanks for your input!

gwkenny
12-19-2007, 04:18 AM
Kathy:

I guess you are creating a boilerplate or something on the fly and you need to get the data from this Excel file (which changes over time).

If the number of rows and columns remains static and you just need to get the most recent data into your document, the best way would be to insert a picture of the Excel file as a link. So if the table spans three Word pages, you would insert 3 linked pictures or 3 pictures.

If the number of column and rows changes over time, then the best way might be to just port the raw data over into a huge word table. Then format the data and split the table accordingly over several pages.

I've written presentation systems that did just this kind of thing. It can be very tedious though. The problem is identifying all the parameters you need to address before you write the solution so you only have to do it once.

Having to go back and revisit code every few weeks (or even every few days) because someone changes the parameters isn't very fun :D

Hope this helps a little and gives you some direction.