PDA

View Full Version : Solved: return formatted number from function?

sandbagger
12-16-2007, 01:10 PM
I just want to format TEST as a percentage in the following simple example. I cannot seem to get "NumberFormat" property to work. I'm new to excel so any help is appreciated.

Function TEST(x As Range) As Double

Dim cnt As Integer
Dim tmp As Double
Dim i As Integer

cnt = x.Cells.Count
tmp = 0

For i = 1 To cnt
tmp = tmp + x.Cells(i)
Next i

TEST = tmp

End Function

mumphis
12-16-2007, 01:14 PM
How about format(variable, "0.00")?

sandbagger
12-16-2007, 01:23 PM
Ok, I added the following as the last line in the function.

TEST = Format(TEST, "0.00")

and it did not force the result into percent format.

mikerickson
12-16-2007, 02:35 PM
Do you want the function to return a number or a string.?

Percentages are numbers. There is no difference between a number and a percentage, other than the format in which it is shown. The format of the destination cell can be set to show the number as in "0.00%" format. But functions can't set cell formats. (Not when called from a worksheet.)

If you want your function to return a string, changing the function type declaration and using

TEST=Format(tmp,"0.00%") should do it.

Bob Phillips
12-16-2007, 02:56 PM
Why not just

=SUM(range)

in the Excel sheet and format it as required?

sandbagger
12-16-2007, 03:24 PM
Function TEST(x As Range) As String

Dim cnt As Integer
Dim tmp As Double
Dim i As Integer

cnt = x.Cells.Count
tmp = 0

For i = 1 To cnt
tmp = tmp + x.Cells(i)
Next i

TEST = Format(tmp, "0.00%")

End Function
yes, the above worked. Thanks guys.

I'm not quite sure the consequences to storing the result as string however. When further manipulating the result, Excel seems to automatically cast the string to a number.

Bob Phillips
12-16-2007, 04:35 PM
It will.

But can you tell me why you want such a dumb function (dumb in that it does nothing smart), when you can do it in Excel? I just don't get this approach.