PDA

View Full Version : Password in Workbook open VBA code?

thomas.szwed
12-17-2007, 06:36 AM
Hi,

I have a master workbook which has confidential data on and is therefore password protected. I have created many other workbooks that all link to the master workbook to pull in specificied data. Trouble is to do that you have to enter in the master workbooks password. Is there anyway i can program that into the code so that when the user clicks on the file it just opens and updates without any password prompts?

Many Thanks

unmarkedhelicopter
12-17-2007, 07:55 AM
Yes, but your password is then exposed to anyone reading the code.

thomas.szwed
12-17-2007, 07:56 AM
That doesn't bother me as my user wont be divulging that far.......Could you tell me how?

Bob Phillips
12-17-2007, 08:03 AM
Then why bother having a password?

thomas.szwed
12-17-2007, 08:15 AM
So my users cant access the master workbook with all the data, just their specified workbook which brings back relevant data to them. They wont be scouring for the password, its no interest to them.

Do you know the code?

Thanks

unmarkedhelicopter
12-17-2007, 09:32 AM
workbooks.Open path\filename,,,,password

thomas.szwed
12-17-2007, 09:33 AM
Does it open up the other workbook though or just pull the data in?+ im not quite sure how this code fits in with the ,,,,,? could you give me a clearer example? Thanks

unmarkedhelicopter
12-17-2007, 10:31 AM
Does it look like it pulls data in ?
You PM'ed me to ask for input on an open thread (very annoying) to ask how to open a password protected workbook with vba.
Well you use the open command. Path is the path to the workbook and filename is the name of the workbook and password is the workbook password. There are MANY parameters that can be passed with the open method the comma's just put password in the correct place.
Have you EVER used the help system within the VBE ?

thomas.szwed
12-18-2007, 02:18 AM