PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Create a simple login screen for Access

ladysnake38
12-28-2007, 08:28 AM
Hi:

I need to create a very simple login screen for the program I'm working on. The users table has only 3 fields, user_id, name and password. Nothing futher is needed.

The login screen has two unbound boxes Name and Password. If the name (which is in the format of joesmith) and the password (limit 12 characters) are in the table, the user pushes the continue button and the main form will open. If not, an error message "Invalid name or password, please try again" will appear. It would be nice if after 3 attempts, it would kick you out, but its not necessary.

I have read in previous posts about using DLookup, but I'm very new to Access at this level and never have used VB before.

Can anyone show me an example of the code?

Cheryl

nczimm
12-28-2007, 12:03 PM
Here is some code I use. The call to faillogin is a function that opens a form with a failure message. There is a lot of code between what I have provided and the faillogin function that will probably be very confusing. If you like I can send it. I also have cut out a lot. If something seems to be missing I probably deleted it in error. I' be happy to help further.

Dim dbconn As ADODB.Connection
Dim rst As Recordset
Dim clogin As String
If Me.login <> "" Then
If Me.password <> "" Then
clogin = Me.login
Set dbconn = CurrentProject.Connection
Set rst = New ADODB.Recordset
rst.Open "select * from users where login=" & "'" & clogin & "'", dbconn, adOpenKeyset, adLockOptimistic
If Me.password = rst!password Then
action = "OK"
DoCmd.Close
Else:
Call faillogin
End If
End If
End If

nczimm
12-28-2007, 12:07 PM