PDA

View Full Version : Sorting over multiple sheets

primaryteach
01-01-2008, 10:41 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post - so please treat me kindly.
I'm a primary school teacher in England and I am trying to use Excel to create a mark book.
I want to use a sheet for each subject, rather than put the grades all on one sheet but this leads me to the problem I need assistance with.

When new pupils are added, I would like to be able to sort the data alphabetically. However, I have referenced data from the first page in formulas on subsequent pages, to save time copying and pasting or retyping (e.g. pupil names). So when I sort my first sheet, it automatically sorts the referenced data on the subsequent sheets but not the rest of the data (e.g. grades), so they all get in a muddle.

So my question is: Can you use VBA to sort all the sheets together at the same time, so when the referenced data changes on the first sheet, all data on other sheets automatically is sorted?

I hope that makes sense. I have attached a mock file to this post, so you can see how I am setting it up at the moment. The final workbook will have a much larger amount of information and therefore I feel putting all the data on one sheet to make the sorting process easy will too cumbersome to navigate.

Thanks for your help,

Simon

Bob Phillips
01-02-2008, 03:00 AM
Try this

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "A:A"
Dim SavedValue As String
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim LastRow As Long
Dim NumRows As Long
Dim MatchRow As Long

On Error GoTo ws_exit
Application.EnableEvents = False
'Application.Calculation = xlCalculationManual

If Not Intersect(Target, Me.Range(WS_RANGE)) Is Nothing Then
With Target
SavedValue = .Value
LastRow = Me.Cells(Me.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
Me.Cells(LastRow, "A").Value = .Value
Me.Rows(1).Resize(LastRow).Sort key1:=Me.Range("A1"), _
order1:=xlAscending, _
header:=xlYes
MatchRow = Application.Match(SavedValue, Me.Columns(1), 0)