PDA

View Full Version : Solved: No projects showing in VBA window

susand
01-07-2008, 04:05 PM
I am new to VBA and recently on a customer site, went to open their word templates but nothing comes up on the VBA window.

They are Word 2003, OS = XP and the templates were on the server. I created a mapped network drive, changed the properties on the template files from read only. The person I was logged on as has full administration rights.

When I open the template in word and press F11 nothing at all appears in the VBA window, not even the normal project which I at least would have expected to see.

Has anyone else seen this?

TonyJollans
01-07-2008, 05:09 PM
I'm intrigued - you're new to VBA but would expect to see the Normal Project. I would expect to see it too, but I'm not new to VBA :)

Are you saying that the Project Explorer is empty? Or not there? If the latter press Ctrl+R (or View > Project Explorer). If the former, I don't know.

susand
01-07-2008, 05:16 PM
Tony,

Yes new to VBA, the couple of times I have used it the normal.dot has appeared in the Project Explorer, thus was expecting to see it again. Now I think about it, it was not even showing the Explorer, I will try it when I am on the customers site tomorrow.

Thanks in advance

lucas
01-07-2008, 09:36 PM
I think it's possible that your client may not have a normal.dot. Unless they have recorded a macro no normal.dot exists does it?

How are you opening your template files? By double clicking on them in Windows Explorer? Still you should be able to see code if it exists in the template file.

susand
01-10-2008, 01:08 AM
Thank you for your comments, it was a simple case of not seeing the Projects window. Will not forget that again.

fumei
01-10-2008, 11:26 AM
Steve,

"I think it's possible that your client may not have a normal.dot. Unless they have recorded a macro no normal.dot exists does it?"

This is fairly rare, and with any version prior to 2003, impossible.