View Full Version : RAND function recalculating
cgphung
01-07-2008, 09:22 PM
I use the RAND function to generate numbers for math problems in a worksheet. The user is asked to enter an answer. However, when the answer is enetered by the user, the worksheete refreshes itself and regenerates new numbers which always makes the answer enetered is wrong. Is there anyway to make the RAND function do not regenerate new number unless it is activated by some other action.
Please help!
CGP
RAND() is a volitile function. Someone here probably knows a more elegant way, but this seems to work.
Function NVRand() As Double
NVRand = VBA.Rnd
End Function
You'll have to come up with a way to tickle it when you want to generate a new (pseudo) random number.
cgphung
01-10-2008, 09:36 PM
Thank you for the Function! Now I need to figure out how to tickle it to generate a new random number. Does anyone has an idea?
CGPHUNG:think:
mikerickson
01-10-2008, 09:53 PM
Function NVRand(inVal as Boolean) As Double
If inVal Then
NVRand = VBA.Rnd
Else
NVRand = Application.Caller.Value
End If
End Function
Put =NVRand($A$1) in your range of cells. Enter TRUE in A1. There are the Random Values. Enter False in A1. The values are frozen, until you True again
cgphung
01-11-2008, 09:59 PM
Thank you for all the sugestions! I can insert a button and assign the macro 'Refresh' to do the trick.
Sub Refresh()
Range("D7") = MyRnd()
End Sub
Public Function MyRnd() As Double
MyRnd = Rnd
End Function
CGP
:thumb
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.