PDA

View Full Version : Range Help



spaz9876
01-15-2008, 09:22 AM
I can't think of the actual name to google this so I thought I'd try here.
I have a form that currently list active jobs per sales rep. I would like the sales rep to be able to update it but don't want them to see other reps. How can I make the form pop up either a list of names to pick their own or a way to type in their name (range) so it filters everything listed under their name?

spaz9876
01-16-2008, 08:02 AM
No one can help me? :(

rconverse
01-16-2008, 01:39 PM
No one can help me? :(

The only thing that I can think of is to create a password table and have each person have their own passwords. Obviously you'd have to make sure that the sales reps can't get to what is "behind" the forms.

Sorry, but I pretty much got nothing for ya here. :dunno

spaz9876
01-17-2008, 09:20 AM
I thought maybe it would be like when you have to type in a date range to query the report.

rconverse
01-17-2008, 09:53 AM
I thought maybe it would be like when you have to type in a date range to query the report.

Sure, you could do that, but that won't stop others from seeing others' data.

If you have two sales rep (Steve and Bob) what would stop Steve from entering Bob or vice versa?

Are you looking to block access of others or just to filter based on a criteria?

spaz9876
01-17-2008, 10:02 AM
Right now, I just want to make it easier for them to not have to go through everyone else's stuff. I don't need any permissions now. Just a filter would be good - just can't figure out how to do that!

rconverse
01-17-2008, 11:29 AM
You could create a table or query an existing table for reps and use a combo box to filter by rep.

HTH
Roger

spaz9876
01-17-2008, 12:15 PM
Here is the thing... when they open up the database, they see the switchboard. On it, I have a button that says "Update Status" - it opens up a form that is linked to a query that has anything that is "active" listed. How can I have a pop-up FIRST (before the form opens) that either has them select their name OR have them type in their name and then the form opens with just their name filtered. I know how to filter through a query but not after the fact.

rconverse
01-17-2008, 02:19 PM
You could do something like create an input box and then use that value to filter...




strResponse = InputBox("Please enter your ID.", vbyesno, "ID Validation"



Then when you open your form (I am assuming a query controls what appears) on the form set the criteria to strResponse.

HTH,
Roger

DarkSprout
01-18-2008, 03:03 AM
I think this should help a little.

1. Create a Form with a Combo Box whose control source is from the users table. [userID;userName] , And ColumnWidth e.g. 0cm;2.5cm

2. Create a subform, with a control source of the records you wish to display.

3. ChildLink the subform to the usersID and ParentLink to the ComboBox.

4. With the Users Combo Box, create a BeforeUpdate Event. this should prompt the user for their Password. If Password does not match (DLookup etc..) then Use
Cancel = True
Exit Sub

4. If the Combo Box BeforeUpdate event was not cancelled then the subform should filter to the userID.