PDA

View Full Version : Question from a rookie VBA user

Peskarik
01-31-2008, 09:02 AM
Hello,
I am a total rookie when it comes to VBA, used it for 2 days. I am reading a book and experimenting, and got into trouble. Cannot understand what I am doing wrong. :dunno

background and question:
I have an open workbook with 2 worksheets: "Shading" and "main". I want to shade every second row in Shading as long as there are values in the first column (I have values 1 thru 25 in column A). The code for this I have from the VBA bible, but I wanted to play a little by running the procedure while "main" is selected. And it does not work. But if I select "Shading" and run the procedure - it works. Could someone please explain why it does not work? :banghead: Is "With" statement incorrectly specified? Thanks in advance! :friends:

Module1 code:

Option Explicit

Sub ShadeEverySecondRow()
With ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Shading")
.Range("A2").EntireRow.Select
Do While ActiveCell.Value <> ""
Selection.Interior.ColorIndex = 15
ActiveCell.Offset(2, 0).EntireRow.Select
Loop
End With
End Sub

Bob Phillips
01-31-2008, 09:09 AM
The problem is because activecell may not be on Shading.

Try this

Sub ShadeEverySecondRow()
Dim LastRow As Long
Dim i As Long

With ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Shading")
LastRow = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
For i = 2 To LastRow Step 2
.Rows(i).Interior.ColorIndex = 15
Next i
End With
End Sub

Peskarik
01-31-2008, 09:14 AM
Aha! I think I understand what you mean. When I select "main" there is one cell selected, and this cell in main is the ActiveCell. Have I understood correctly?

Bob Phillips
01-31-2008, 10:01 AM
Exactly. So your code was looking athe 'Main' sheet, not the 'Shading' sheet. One of the big dangers of using Selection and Activecell, which you will note I studiously avoided.

Actually, your code fails for me if I don't have Shading Active, but no matter, it is a poor approach anyways.

Peskarik
02-01-2008, 03:45 AM
Thanks, xld!