PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Newb to vba need help with trig

AmardeepD
02-14-2008, 04:57 AM
Ok so im a placement student of engineering and have yet to do vba (have got some experiance with vb though phew!) and have been working on a sort of pet project that they have given me to do whenever they dont have any work for me to actually do. The program essentially just churns through loads of calculations after a specification for a filter is input and simulates components and then gives simulated results in graph format (so its a project that will probably take all my free time for the full year ... expect me to post a lot hehe). I have gotten as far as i can withough hitting any problems but now i have a problem with an inverse hyperbolic function

The function is the Acosh of a number.

I did look in the help and it said the syntax was :

expression.Acosh(Arg1)

where expression is a variable that represents a worksheetfunction object.
I have NO idea what this means!!!

It would help a lot if someone could post some sample code of how to use this syntax or something.
Thanks a lot
AmardeepD :help

Bob Phillips
02-14-2008, 05:26 AM
Application.WorksheetFunction.Acosh(10)

or

WorksheetFunction.Acosh(10)

or

Application.Acosh(10)

AmardeepD
02-14-2008, 05:33 AM
Ok so I have dont that and now when i run the program i get runtime error 1004: Unable to get the Acosh property of the WorksheetFunction class :S

Bob Phillips
02-14-2008, 05:50 AM
That is just using it, you have to do something with it, such as

MsgBox Application.Acosh(10)

AmardeepD
02-14-2008, 06:27 AM
Ok well im using it in the context of a calculation. I have:

numele1val=10*log(1+epsilon*(Application.worksheetfunction.cosh((numele1*mi d)^2)))

*just tried to edit out the space and it isnt even there :S*

and it is still coming up with the error??? :S is there something realy simple im missing out?? Thanks
AmardeepD

P.S. Sorry for being a pain haha!

Bob Phillips
02-14-2008, 06:42 AM
What is long?