PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Count empty and non empty in Col B

Flynazn
02-15-2008, 01:56 PM
Hi all,

I was hoping to find a vba code for counting the empty and non empty cell in column B and also highlight the empty cell, there are three different sheets. I would like the results to be placed onto sheet 1. Please advise.

Bob Phillips
02-15-2008, 02:19 PM
Put the values Seet1, Sheet2, Sheet3 in I2, I3 and I4.

In J2, enter =COUNTA(INDIRECT(I2&"!B:B"))

In K2, enter =COUNTA(INDIRECT(I2&"!A:A"))-J2

Copy J2:K2 down to row 4.

Flynazn
02-15-2008, 02:46 PM
Thanks xld...but I got 1 and 0 from the above...what am I doing wrong?

Bob Phillips
02-15-2008, 03:51 PM
Post your workbook with the formulae added.

Flynazn
02-16-2008, 01:04 PM
here's my form

Bob Phillips
02-16-2008, 02:04 PM
You have to put the values in I2:I4 that match the sheet names. If you spell them wrongly, it doesn't work.

Flynazn
02-17-2008, 05:41 PM
Thanks XLD...I am a total beginner...is there any suggestion as to what I can do to get better at VBA and excel in general...

thanks again!!!

Flynazn
02-20-2008, 09:24 AM
Hi again,
Now that I have the formulas, is it possible to have a VBA script so that I can reuse it on different sheets. The three sheets will be updated daily and I want to be able to create a button so that I can just use for this purpose. Thanks.

mdmackillop
02-20-2008, 11:44 AM
Sub AddSummary()
Range("I2").Formula = "Sheet 1"
Range("J2").FormulaR1C1 = "=COUNTA(INDIRECT(RC[-1]&""!B:B""))"
Range("K2").FormulaR1C1 = "=COUNTA(INDIRECT(RC[-2]&""!A:A""))-RC[-1]"
Range("I2:K2").AutoFill Destination:=Range("I2:K4"), Type:=xlFillDefault
End Sub

Flynazn
02-20-2008, 01:38 PM
Thanks again...that made my daily review much easier. One more function I left out. I wanted to add to the VBA script a function that will look at column B, and if a date exist then put a formula into Column C "=B2+445".

Thanks again everyone...u don't know how much time this is saving me.

Bob Phillips