PDA

View Full Version : Solved: query based on user-entered dates

AJS
03-06-2008, 09:05 PM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to access vba programming. I'd like to create a report that prompts the user to enter a start date and an end date, and then uses those dates as a filter in the "job completed" date field on all available records. I'm not sure how to code this. I've tried making a seperate calendar form and table but I don't seem to be able to use this approach, as there is no defined relationship between the two tables. I'm also not sure how to then create a report using these user-entered dates! Any ideas?

Thanks, Aaron

rconverse
03-07-2008, 09:55 AM
Well, to create a query with dates, just surround the dates in #'s.

dim date1 as date, date2 as date

strsql = ...WHERE ((tblOpenPO.[Enter Dt]) Between #" & date1 & "# And #" & date2 & "#)...

How is the report being triggered, via a button on a form? Are you going to have someone input the dates into a form? You could also use two input boxes that the person could enter a start and end date.

HTH
Roger

AJS
03-10-2008, 04:17 PM
How is the report being triggered, via a button on a form? Are you going to have someone input the dates into a form? You could also use two input boxes that the person could enter a start and end date.

Yes, the query is being triggered via a button on the form. I'd like to use two input boxes, but I'm not sure how to show calendars in such.

Thanks, Aaron

Trevor
03-12-2008, 10:30 PM
create a report and a query both with the fields you want displayed, set the controlesource(or recordsoucre) of the report to the name of the query,
then build a form with 2 textboxes [Datefrom] , and [Date To] then in the criteria of the query you made add the line: >=[forms]![form Name]![DateFrom] And <=[forms]![form name]![DateTo].

on your form create a button (call it whatever u'd like) it will be used to create your report , and on the on click event for the button past code:
Dim stDocName As String