PDA

View Full Version : Searching text entries

MikeLondon
03-15-2008, 04:39 AM
I am a photographer and I have pictures in an on-line library.

I need to upgrade the keywords on my pictures and the library has sent me an excel spreadsheet with all the data they currently hold on my pictures.

There are 17 columns in the spreadsheet and 7,900 rows, one for each picture I have on the site.

I want to extract groups of file records, for example all the 'Brazil' pictures or all the 'education' pictures. Once I have all the Brazil pictures gathered I can add group keywords to these pictures.

Because the pictures were scanned and uploaded to the site by a third party the image file names are not a useful way of finding the relevant records.

Of the 17 columns on the spreadsheet there are three which contain words I could search for to find all the 'Brazil' pictures: one called caption, one called keywords and one called description.

Each cell in these fields can each contain quite large records, for instance there may be 20 words in one keyword cell for a particular picture or the description cell for that picture may contain 60 words. I need to search in these cells for the word Brazil and then be able to gather all the rows that have Brazil somewhere in their entry.

I am a bit of an expert in photoshop but a basic beginner in excel.

I have tried the search, filter and autofilter functions in excel but these will not search within cells for particular words.

Does anyone have any ideas about how I can do this?

I am on a mac using os 10.4.11 and excel 10.1.0

many thanks,

Mike

lucas
03-15-2008, 07:12 AM
Mike, I have moved this to the Excel help forum. I think you will find help here much quicker than in the misc. help forum.

lucas
03-15-2008, 07:26 AM
Mike,