PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Multiplying cells from gathered information using VBA Excel ONLY

ladeda16
03-16-2008, 05:50 PM
Hello everyone!

I have a hard time doing a process of multiplying or is there even a rule for multiplication in vba excel. I'm just a beginner, i guess what i learned so far at school to the very most was If statements. And i have a hard time finishing my homework because of this one problem.

Let me bring a scenario:
Well lets just say i own a restaurant, so i need to know what the customers want to order. So i make a command button letting them choose from whatever dish they want. Say they want lobster and i have to match it with the price of the lobster from the other cell. But, what i really want to do is see the quantity that they ordered multiplied by the price of the dish they ordered.

So here is what i came up with:

lucas
03-16-2008, 07:11 PM
Hi ladeda,
We really appreciate you telling us that this is homework and we will be more than glad to help you with specific questions......looks like you have a good start on this.

It would be great if you could upload your workbook for us so we can see exactly what you see. Hit "post reply" button on lower left of the last post in the thread. Then scroll down and look for "manage attachments"

It looks like you just want to multiply some cell values and wind up with a varible with the results....variable being intPrice. You show nothing in your code for returning the value of intPrice after the calculations....ie a messagebox or placing the value of the variable in a cell....unless I am missing something.

ladeda16
03-16-2008, 07:20 PM
Make a Visual Basic Command Button with name cmdCalculatePrice and caption "Calculate Price".
Make "P" as the accelerator key. Write VBA code for the button to do the followings:
? Create a String variable to store the value of the cell B21.
? Create an Integer variable to store the value of the cell C21.