PDA

View Full Version : changing cell contents on basis off another cell

hwfan123
03-28-2008, 01:26 PM
I am trying to get my code to input text into one cell by using the data in another cell as a guideline.
For Example in Column AE row 249 the cell data is ZN03, I want to change Column AK row 249 to display CAB1. I want the code to check all the cells in Row AE for this data and make changes in the corresponding columns. now for the part that I am having difficulty with, if the compare cell shows ZN04 I want the display cell to show SUBs and if it shows ZEPR I want the display cell to show EPROM.
Any suggestions on how to loop this correctly? Thanks iin advance for any help that is provided for this.
Nick

Bob Phillips
03-28-2008, 01:59 PM
Not really sure, but pseudo code is

If compare_cell= "ZN04" Then
display_cell = "SUBs"
ElseIf compare_cell= "ZEPR" Then
display_cell = "EPROM"
End If

hwfan123
03-28-2008, 02:29 PM
I am still really new to macros and I am learning as I go. with that said would I need to dim any variables and how would I have the code run through the entire column and make changes 4 columns over in the same row.

mdmackillop
03-28-2008, 02:47 PM
Welome to VBAX

Option Explicit
Option Compare Text
Private Sub Test()
Dim cel As Range
For Each cel In Intersect(Rows(249), ActiveSheet.UsedRange)
Select Case cel
Case "ZN03"
cel.Offset(, 4) = "CAB1"
Case "ZN04"
cel.Offset(, 4) = "SUBs"
Case "ZEPR"
cel.Offset(, 4) = "EPROM"
End Select
Next
End Sub

mdmackillop
03-28-2008, 02:49 PM
Rereading, I may have this the wrong way round. Are all the values in COLUMN AE or ROW 249. Please be careful with your use of these terms.

Aussiebear
03-28-2008, 04:37 PM
I am trying to get my code to input text into one cell by using the data in another cell as a guideline.