PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Simple Encryption

OriginalEz
04-08-2008, 11:59 PM
I really hope some can help me. I not fresh meat hough I am still a noob. I have googled and got little help. I am currently using office 2000 on these systems.

I am trying to create a 'simple' encryption proc. I want to change each letter within a string to 2 letters along in the alphabet (or ASC). The string will be defined by an input box (easy enough) but at the end of the encryption, i want it to be displayed on either a msgbox or new, unsaved text file.

Im not all that interested in keys, although i know it is more secure, it is more for the workers and they wouldn't know how to crack the simple code anyway.

I realise this may have been covered in a previous post, but believe me, the solutions i have read did not do the job.

Thanks in advance for any help!

tstav
04-09-2008, 02:03 AM
OriginalEz,

Encryption/decryption issues are discouraged (to say the least) and I believe for very good reasons. You may want to read the forum's policy.
http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/faq.php?faq=psting_faq_item#faq_hack_faq_item

OriginalEz
04-09-2008, 02:11 AM
Ok tstav, thanks for pointing me in the right direction for the policy regarding crack/hack etc. I too agree with that policy but it is not hacking or cracking anything. It is to keep my IM messages personal.

The purpose of what I am trying to create (which will be attached to my excel add-in toolbar) is to encrypt short messages transmitted over IM so they are safe from praying eyes. Should anyone access my terminal whilst on lunch etc, they wouldn't make sense to the reader anyway, thus rendering their snooping useless. The code will of course have a seperate proc to decrypt the string back to cleartext.

Is this purpose any better or will i still find that no-one will help???

tstav
04-09-2008, 02:18 AM
Encryption code might be used for ANY purpose.