PDA

View Full Version : Copying multiple column data in multiple sheets to one column in Master sheet

satyen
04-12-2008, 09:03 AM
Hello,

I have a Master sheet with header row of columns.
There are 15 other sheets in that same workbook.

For example: in Master sheet the column names are:
ID, Stock Name, Cost etc.

In Sheet2 the headings could be:
Code, Entity Name and Amount.

In sheet 3 it could be:
Identifier, Name and Price.

I would like to paste everything from Code column (Sheet 2) and Identifier column (Sheet 3 under) under ID column in Master sheet.

Can someone help?

I need to write a CASE statement please

mdmackillop
04-12-2008, 09:41 AM
Hi Satyen
Welcome to VBAX
Give this a try

Option Explicit
Sub CopyStuff()
DoCopy "Sheet2", "Code"
DoCopy "Sheet3", "Identifier"
End Sub

Sub DoCopy(Sh As String, Header As String)
Dim Tgt As Range, TgtCol As Long, col As Long
'Find destination cell
TgtCol = Sheets("Master").Rows(1).Find("ID").Column
With Sheets("Master")
Set Tgt = .Cells(.Rows.Count, TgtCol).End(xlUp).Offset(1)
End With

'Copy data to target
With Sheets(Sh)
col = .Rows(1).Find(Header).Column
Range(.Cells(2, col), .Cells(.Rows.Count, col).End(xlUp)).Copy Tgt
End With
End Sub

satyen
04-12-2008, 09:56 AM
Hi Thanks for this.

I will be combining all worksheets in a folder to one Master workbook and the number of sheets and their names is not definite (will vary each time the code is run) but will be around 15.
No. of rows will vary too, between 50-100 rows.

I will need to add the other column information from the other sheets into the Master sheet according to what column they correspond to in the Master sheet. Is it worth setting up a lookup table in Excel or should I just reference everything from code?

mdmackillop
04-12-2008, 10:03 AM
It's probably easier to maintain a lookup table, especially if it's subject to change. The code can be easily adapted to use such a table.