PDA

View Full Version : Can VBA do = camera to scan paper image:check marks ABCD = auto grading in classroom

Sam62
04-29-2008, 01:52 PM
I'm a 5th grade teacher using excel to help make me a more efficient teacher. I have been working on this excel program for 2 years and now I want to be able to grade tests much faster by scanning a sheet of paper that the student has marked the answers to questions. I know it can be done because I have seen it but it costs too much money for my class.

1 A B C D E (lets say their is a heavy pencil mark over B)
2 A B C D E (Now, their is a mark over C) etc

0. I use excel to capture an image of an answer sheet that has question numbers and responses where I have marked out the correct letter. THis sheet is saved to be use to compare against a student's sheet

1. A student comes to the desk and excel scans their response sheet under the camera.

2. EXcel captures the image, uses some kind of image matching routine to check the student's sheet image to my answer sheet image and sees that the student has a marked over the D instead of the B.for question 1 (etc)

3. Reports back to excel and then I can handle the rest but I don't lnoiw if there are any activex, ocx, or ??? routines out there like a Punch card routine, a Scan Card routine, etc
Thanks for any leads or help.

Oorang
05-02-2008, 06:23 AM
Hi Sam, the biigest issue that you are going to run into here is the optical character recognition (OCR). Microsoft Document Imaging has rudimentry OCR but your milage may vary, it can be a bit tetchy. Here is example code:Public Sub SimpleExample()
'MODI object require you to set a reference to <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
'"Microsoft Document Imaging". It is usually found at:
'C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\MODI\11.0\MDIVWCTL.DLL
Dim mdiDoc As MODI.Document
Dim mdiImg As MODI.Image
Dim strTxt As String
Set mdiDoc = New MODI.Document
mdiDoc.Create "D:\Test\OCR Test.tif" 'Confusing Syntax. This opens the file.