PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Zero values not listed

jwise
04-30-2008, 12:12 PM
I admit I have no Access experience or training. I have written some Excel macros.

The Access query is for real estate management. There are two similar queries. The relevant query is "By agent by week". This means the number of apartments leased by the agent in the last week.

I was asked to update this code. When the query is run, the results omit people who have written zero leases. The boss wants to see all leasing agents. I found this code after pecking around in Access:

Private Sub Command8_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command8_Click
Dim stDocName As String
stDocName = "By Agent"
DoCmd.OpenReport stDocName, acPreview
Exit_Command8_Click:
Exit Sub
Err_Command8_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command8_Click

End Sub

The code works perfectly... it just doesn't list the names of those agents who had zero leases for the week. Any idea what I must change to list the zero lease agents? I guessed that "DoCmd" was running a subroutine named "By agent", but I can find no code with anything like that name.

TIA

CreganTur
04-30-2008, 12:43 PM
I guessed that "DoCmd" was running a subroutine named "By agent", but I can find no code with anything like that name.

Actually that DoCmd is opening a report with the name "By Agent". The entire code you posted does nothing more than launch a report when the button is clicked.

Notice that the variable stDocName is set to the value "By Agent". DoCmd.OpenReport means "Do this Command: Open A Report"
-Then stDocName is in the place for the report's name: "By Agent"
acPreview tells Access how the report should look when it is opened- in this case it's opened in preview mode.

You need to change the report itself to be able to see agents with zero rentals. Take a look at the report in design view and see if you can discover if the report is being fed from a Query.