PDA

View Full Version : Ad-Hoc Query Builder in Access

rangudu_2008
05-07-2008, 06:16 AM
I'm trying to code a macro in Access where i can build any type of query to query the database, whcih can be saved and executed when required. Also i wanted to export the data to an Excel sheet.

I started coding this macro and ended up sucessfully to a point where can build only select queries and export them to Excel. I used Access 2003.

Can anyone help me with the coding where in i can build and execute join queries too? I want to change this interface completely and should also be able to choose multiple tables to build join queries by choosing selected fields of a table (like a wizard interface), use comparison operators like NOT, AND, OR, sort fields, group by, order by functions like in the screenshots attached.

I am entirely new to coding macros in Access. I know VB coding and can do it Excel to some extent.

PLEASE :help

matthewspatrick
05-08-2008, 06:16 AM
rangudu_2008,

With respect, what you are asking for is considerably difficult. Given that Access already provides a reasonably user friendly query designer, what is the value added for your desired approach?

BlueTick
05-08-2008, 07:36 AM
http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/Otherdownload.asp?SampleName='DH%20Query%20By%20Form'

Duane Hookom created something similar...

The developer creates one or more master queries that join tables, alias field names, create calculated columns, etc. The users can then select a master query (datasource) from a drop-down and then select up to 30 fields from the master query. Users can define sorting and criteria as well as grouping and totaling. All of this "design" information is stored in two tables for re-use.

rangudu_2008
05-08-2008, 07:57 AM
I need to build one for doing some MIS work..

BlueTick,
As i said i'm new to coding macros in Access... I don't understand how to use it or what the Query Builder does...

Patrick,