PDA

View Full Version : Excel bug?



IgnBan
05-14-2008, 05:49 PM
I have a very unusual bug in Excel.

The screenshot attached (the blue square box to the left) happens in some my in progress work and finished reports. It appears at any time in;
In progress reports
In progress new applications
In applications delivered and already run in a different computer
In reports send in run in any other computer
In just any work I do in Excel. I asked people in my workplace and no body had this problem, unless they received one of my reports.
Is this an Excel bug? Does any body have this same problem?
What is very annoying is when it happens, I have to completely close all of the Excel workbooks that I have open (it really upset my because usually I will have at least 4 workbooks open) to reset Excel, loosing the work not covered by autosave.

Any idea if this is an Excel bug? How can I fix it?

PS
I forgot to mention I'm using Excel 2003 with Windows XP Professional.

stanleydgrom
05-16-2008, 05:04 PM
IgnBan,

Can you post/attach a workbook where this happens?


Have a great day,
Stan

IgnBan
05-16-2008, 06:23 PM
First of all thanks for replaying to my post.

Stanley, I can't post these reports, they are statistical process control reports made of demerits of our company product, and I don't have permission of make them public. Sorry

This can happen at any time and it doesnt have a pattern to appear.

I goggled it and been on the Microsoft site looking for and answer with no luck.

Can this be a macro "misbehaving"? ...all of these reports have code. If the possibility of code is the root cause, where should I be looking for scape point?

stanleydgrom
05-16-2008, 06:33 PM
IgnBan,

I understand.

Are all your users using the same version of Excel?

Can you post the macro code?

At the beginning of your posted code, enter the following without the four double quote marks:
"["VBA"]"


'Your code goes here.


At the end of your posted code, enter the following without the four double quote marks:
"["/VBA"]"


Have a great day,
Stan

IgnBan
05-16-2008, 07:36 PM
Stanley, the particular instance of the screenshot posted, happened in a report that have this code;

A button that copy and paste the values from one column to another in the same Sheet.

Sub Button6_Click()
Range("F9:F32").Select
Selection.Copy
Range("E9").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False
Range("F35").Select
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Selection.Copy
Range("E35").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False
Range("D9:D32").Select
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Selection.Copy
Range("C9").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False
Range("D35").Select
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Selection.Copy
Range("C35").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Range("A3:G3").Select
End Sub

This second code snippet is from a sheet that is color coding a range cell values that rank them in a preconfigured color group ranking .

Public Sub Worksheet_Calculate()
Dim Row As Range
Dim Cell As Range
Dim Rank As Variant

For Each Row In [J7:AK7, J14:AK1000].Rows
For Each Cell In Row.Cells
If Len(Cell) > 0 Then
Rank = Application.Rank(Cell.Value, Row)
If Not IsError(Rank) Then
Select Case Rank
Case 1
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 5
Case 2 To 4
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 3
Case 5 To 9
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 44
Case Else
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 36
End Select
End If
Else
Cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 0
End If
Next Cell
Next Row
End Sub

Any of the other reports where this is also happening have any part of this code.

Bob Phillips
05-17-2008, 01:43 AM
I don't think it is anything to do with your code, it is conflicts in Excel/OS/other apps, where the screen is properly refreshed. If I start the object browser on this machine, when I close it, it leaves a grey box the the OB was. I have to restart Excel to remove it, nothing else does.