PDA

View Full Version : copy from Word to Access

ejm91206
02-22-2005, 03:33 PM
Trying to copy active word document contents to a field in Access w/one button click, using late binding.

I've gotten this far, but it doesn't work. I'm not a programmer, so I can only pick my way thru and pull stuff from other code I've downloaded, so speak down to me please! :)

Dim objWord As Object
Dim objDoc As Object
Set objWord = GetObject(, "Word.Application")
objWord.Visible = True
Set objDoc = objWord.activedocument
objDoc.Selection.HomeKey Unit:=wdStory
objDoc.Selection.Extend
Me!TxDetails.SetFocus Paste

Thanks in advance,

Ed

Ken Puls
02-22-2005, 03:37 PM
Hi Ed,

Welcome to VBAX!

a I've taken the liberty of editing your post for that.:)

ejm91206
02-22-2005, 05:47 PM
thanks for the tip and the welcome! I'm much more familiar on Jeep boards :D

TonyJollans
02-23-2005, 03:11 AM
Hi Ed,

You say "... copy active word document contents ..."

Do you want to run this from Access or Word? And will either or both applications be open? And if Word is open, will the document you want be open or do you want to open it, or do you want to select it from a file list? And what version of Access and Word are you using? Also you seem to want to copy into a control on an open Form - is this correct?

I guess what I'm saying is can you give a bit more detail please?

ejm91206
02-23-2005, 05:55 AM
Hi Tony,

yep, I wanna open a word doc, then go to a form in access, click a button, and have the contents of that doc copied and pasted to a field, via command button on the form.
Reason for this is to minimize the hunt and peck steps needed to get the information of said word docs to the database. The docs are brief text descriptions typed under full page size bitmaps and right now we're doing alot of scrolling and what not.
Personally, I don't mind but the boss man finds it frustrating, so whatever can be done to make it easier I want to try and implement it.