PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Make me look like an Excel/VBA Rockstar....

gregj
06-02-2008, 07:41 AM
Hello all, This being my first post here I will start off first by saying thank-you to all of you who have learned how to utilize a product in a much more expert way than I......

I am a regular user of excel, and am somewhat skilled in making it do what I want, but know ZERO (0) about the vba side of things. A little introduction first..... I am an education administrator for a school of medicine. I am trying to find a way to solve a grade reporting issue, in that grades are too often not filtered into the system in as timely a fashion as necessary. I need to see the grades of our students at the same time as they are entered into the profs spreadsheets, so that I can identify the students who are in trouble.

What I have done thus far is as follows:

1) created an "original spreadsheet, with conditional formatting so that if an entry is less than 70 the text is colorred red.
2) created a duplicate to this sheet, so that as a grade is entered into one cell, it will reflect on the other seperate sheet in a seperate book.
3) created automatic graphs so as a number is reflected in a cell, an automatic point is assigned on the graph in the corresponding position.

What I really need to have happen is as follows:

1) It would be great that if a cell has an entry that is 75 or less an autmatic email is generated at a point in time later...say 120 mins later, that alerts me to this fact.

2) It would perhaps be even better if the cut n paste method was not the method employed in order to create the spreadsheet so that I can see it.... recall that the original sheet is the profs...(will reside on a shared drive) and the other book hereunto refered as the LAW book... is mine and sits on my computer.....