PDA

View Full Version : Word Bookmark input capture

kkinsella
06-06-2008, 04:34 AM
Hi i am new to vb and have an issue im hoping someone can help me with.
:(
i have a word template that users initially fillin when opening info using input box prompts VB then puts the results of their inpur into designated bookmarks in template. I have a version table with 5 columns in my template the first row of infomration is filled by the VB input box macro by pointing at bookmark names as above, however i want users to be able add more version detail through the doc;s life and the detail to be populated in the next empty bookmark or row in the column. is there any way i can get a macro to look at a bookmark or table cell and test for an entry and if one exists then move to the next row to input the result of the input box?

many thanks in advance.
Kevin

fumei
06-06-2008, 08:26 AM
"is there any way i can get a macro to look at a bookmark or table cell and test for an entry and if one exists then move to the next row to input the result of the input box?"

Yes. Although I suggest that you make a decision here...

"to be populated in the next empty bookmark or row"

Which? Bookmark, or row?

kkinsella
06-06-2008, 10:56 AM
Hi thanks for reply, guess the descision is better made knowing which is easier.

but my preference would be for tables/rows as it can then auto grow as the versions increase.

thanks Kevin

fumei
06-06-2008, 11:04 AM
You need to fully express your logic. I would suggest actually writing it out.

Say you have something that puts text into Row2/Col2.

1. is that text the only text in that cell?
2. if you wish to change it, are you replacing the whole thing, or adding to it? If you are adding to it, are you adding to the end of what is already there? At the beginning of what is already there?
3. if you wish to test if anything is there already (and then put NEW text in a different cell: