PDA

View Full Version : What do I change to run macro in access to table

grichey
06-06-2008, 08:50 PM
Hello, I've been using the below with great success in excel. The problem is I've encountered a situation in which row count greatly exceeds 65000. How do I run the below to an access table?

This is my first attempt at using vba in access so apologies if this seems like a dumb questions.

sub getdata()

Dim objWeb As QueryTable
'Get info from web
Set objWeb = ActiveSheet.QueryTables.Add( _
Connection:="URL;http://www.google.com", _
Destination:=Range("A1"))

With objWeb

.WebSelectionType = xlSpecifiedTables
.WebTables = "1"
.Refresh BackgroundQuery:=False
.SaveData = True
End With

OTWarrior
06-09-2008, 01:13 AM
what is this supposed to do? and why does it error on row 65000?

grichey
06-09-2008, 06:13 AM
I just used google.com as an example. I can post the actual link I'm using if it's of any use. It's not erroring. There is simply more than 65k rows of data. It does what it's supposed to in excel, excel just doesn't have enough rows to fit it all.

This is posted on ee as well now. Hopefully someone will have a clever method! If a solution is arrived at on ee, I'll put it up here as well.

OTWarrior
06-09-2008, 07:42 AM
Don't worry about the data you are putting into it. what does this actually do?

does it record the source code for the site?
does it record all the text?
does it use numbers on the site to make the screen flash pretty colours?

What should this code do? and why should 65000 rows not be enough?

Couldn't you do a test to see if it has reached the 65000 limit? and if it does to continue onto the next worksheet?

grichey
06-09-2008, 08:22 AM
Don't worry about the data you are putting into it. what does this actually do?
The url I am pulling is a txt file more or less of records.

does it record the source code for the site?
does it record all the text?
?