PDA

View Full Version : Solved: adding locked cells via macro

Lindie
06-12-2008, 04:06 PM
Having used the "Protect cell or cells on sheet without protecting sheet" by simon Lloyd I would like to do the following.

add a button to my sheet that will run a macro to add a column to the protected range.
In Simon's great example one has to change the code manually. I need the user to click a button so the last completed column is automatically added to the range.

Any suggestions please?

Simon Lloyd
06-12-2008, 04:19 PM
I've not worked on the problem as such but if you change your range to be protected to perhaps:
Dim acColumn
acColumn = ActiveCell.Column
If Not Intersect(Target, Range(Cells(ActiveCell.Row, acColumn), Cells(acColumn.Rows.Count, acColumn).End(xlUp))) Is Nothing Then

Lindie
06-16-2008, 09:16 AM
Many thanks Simon; I'm fairly new to VBA and having used the code you suggested did not lead me anywhere. Any chance yo giving me a hint as to where to paste the code? I used your code from your "Protect cell or cells on sheet without protecting sheet" but got nowhere. all I'm trying to do is to protect a pupil registration sheet so that once new data is entered and the user clicks on "confirm" all the data-cells are locked.
L

Simon Lloyd
06-16-2008, 03:01 PM
Lindie could you upload a sample workbook please and i'll sort it for you!

Lindie
06-18-2008, 12:22 PM
That's a very kind offer Simon. Many thanks. This is quite a simplistic spreadsheet, an attendance register. I have tried to put a button on the sheet saying "correct" so it locks all comleted cells.
You will also see that some attendees have a ONP. Absent with a reason. These are not counted in the Total (Totaal). I guess there is a way to assign a '1' value to these ONP's so they are automatically totalled.
Whatever advice you are able to give is most apreciated.
L

Simon Lloyd
06-18-2008, 01:49 PM
I would like to do the following.