PDA

View Full Version : ComboBox in a Word Table Cell

JonBattle
06-15-2008, 05:37 PM
Im new at VB and cant get this to work. I want a ComboBox in a Table cell that has values of "Rain" "Snow" "Sleet" - I want user to pick one...value goes nowhere as document is to be printed.

In another cell....same thing...different values "Hot" "Sunny" "Warm"

Ive done the "Insert Combo Box", View Code etc and tried some different things.....to no avail...

One thing that keeps happening is that one box takes on the dropdown values of the other....

Appreciate any help...JonB

pnewton
06-15-2008, 07:13 PM
Have you tried using forms?

JonBattle
06-15-2008, 10:09 PM
Im trying to put this drop down into a cell in a Word Table...so am not sure how forms will help. Im using Word 2007 in (2003) Compatibility Mode

CreganTur
06-16-2008, 06:31 AM
I think what pnewton meant is that you could create a userform where your users can select all of the options at once. Then you could have a button on the form that would insert the chosen values into the letter.

One easy way to do this would be to inert a uniquely named bookmark at each place where you want a chosen value entered. Then you could use
ActiveDocument.Bookmarks(Name).Range.Text = Value
Where Name would be the name of the bookmark you want to add the value to, and Value is a variable that represents the chosen value of the combo box on the userform.

pnewton
06-16-2008, 01:10 PM
Try this:

Private Sub ComboBox1_GotFocus()
Dim lngAnswer As Long
With ComboBox1
'Save Current selection
lngAnswer = .ListIndex
'Remove items or we will keep adding them over an over...
.Clear
'Add the items
.AddItem "Hot"
.AddItem "Sunny"
.AddItem "Warm"
.AddItem "Cold"
'Reset the selection
.ListIndex = lngAnswer
End With
End Sub

As long as you have code for each combobox you should be fine.

Cheers

P

CreganTur
06-16-2008, 01:19 PM
As long as you have code for each combobox you should be fine.