PDA

View Full Version : Execel, OLEObjects (buttons) sometimes not firing, triggering

BobTheBuilde
06-19-2008, 07:39 PM
:motz2: AHH. You would not believe how long I've looked and looked for someone else with this problem but, alas, I am here to ask away on a forum. If anyone can help I will be very very greatful. Know that you'd be making a young man somewhere in the midwest very happy.

Context: This is my first time with VBA. I've taken one collegiate class about programming, but I'm definately a newbie.
Problem: OLEObjects stop firing sometimes (by firing I mean that when they are clicked, an event is not triggered). By "sometimes", I mean I know certain procedures cause the objects to stop firing - other times it seems random.
Details: I have an Excel workbook has quite a few OLEObjects on it for navigation and all-around ease of use for the user. Each OLEObjects has its own, unique name and event (a <Name>_click() event, though many of these click events call the exact same procedure). And so, at all times, even when the OLEObjects aren't firing as they should, I always have correctly labelled OLEObjects and <Name>_click() events that should 'find each other (?)'.
Specific Case: The following code deletes all objects named "ItemButton"&<Name> (this "Name" is a number). Once that is done, it immediately re-creates the deleted OLEObjects and then creates one more (so you end up with 5 if you started with 4 - 1 new and the initial 4 should be the same as before). When this code is run, usually the 4 initial OLEObjects don't fire, whereas the new one will. This isn't always the case, but it's the most consistant example I can give.

Sub A_A_Utility_PrintBox_Populator()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Call A_A_Utility_UnlockAllSheets
ActiveWorkbook.Unprotect
Dim M As Long
Dim I As Long 'Hght As Long
Dim Name As String, NName As String
Dim blnMasterValue As Boolean
Range("A3").Value = "=COUNTA(F4:F1000)"
NumberItems = Range("A3").Value