PDA

View Full Version : Life Saver or First Aid

prabhafriend
07-13-2008, 04:26 AM
Hello Friends... This is Prabhakaran from Thanjavur (South India). First of all I want to confess to you all that I am not a traditional programmer or anything like that. Now I am 23 years old joined in an Administrative office before 3 years immediately after discontinuing my diploma studies. First of all I joined there only as a Data-Entry Operator. Within a month of joining there I came to know that the office were I working was an administrative office for some 6 Television Relay Centres. The main work of our office was to maintain accounts like Salary, Leave, Pension, Tax Deduction, etc., for the employees working under all of its Television Relay Centre. There are clerks who do all these calculation manually and write in a paper and then gives to me to get it printed. My work was to type all these data in word file and printing it. The Data-Entry operator worked before me were also did like these. But after a while, one of my friends came to my office to visit me, he is a computer geek, when he saw some my work he suggested me to use auto-text options for entering recurring texts like officer?s signature like that. I did as my friend?s suggestion. I felt this reduces lot of time. So I slowly began to explore all of the options found in the MS-word. Later, I learned about formatting copier, Styles and Formatting, Bullets and Numbering, Index and tables. All these finally saved my time very effectively. Then I wanted to save much more time, so I began to mimic all of the calculations using msexcel they did on the data they gave me. Step-by-Step I learned Msexcel too. I began to use goal-seek, pivot-tables, functions like that. This saved not only time for me but also able to found out some errors that they done on the data. Initially I didn?t corrected the errors that they did on the data just type what gave to me and return them even though I found out their errors. After some d