PDA

View Full Version : How to select a folder without the common dialog in access

bdthomas02
07-23-2008, 06:22 AM
Hello everyone,

I am very good with Access and I know VB (I am not an expert but I understand the code). Here is what I am trying to do with less code as possible:

1. I want to create a button in Access that will allow me to navigate to a folder (the folder is located in a tree three or four folders down) using the folder dialog option. I do not want to use the commondialog button but would rather hard code if possible.

2. Once I locate the folder I want to click the folder and automatically import certain files that are in the folder into Access. The folder will contain files such as jpg, doc, txt, xls, xml, and gifs. I only want to import all xml files into Access.

Is there a simple and quick way to do this? I need to be able to use this in other projects as well.

Also, I want to call this procedure from a module.

Thanks to anyone who can help me with this issue.

Thanks,

bdthomas02

:help :help :help :help

Mavyak
07-23-2008, 12:07 PM
Option Compare Database
Sub getXMLfiles()
Dim fso As FileSystemObject
Dim fld As Folder
Dim f As File
Dim fd As FileDialog

Set fd = Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogFolderPicker)

With fd
.AllowMultiSelect = False
.ButtonName = "Select"
.Title = "Select the folder containing XML files:"
.Show
If .SelectedItems.Count > 0 Then
Set fso = New FileSystemObject
Set fld = fso.GetFolder(.SelectedItems(1))
Else
GoTo ExitSub
End If
End With
For Each f In fld.Files
If UCase(Right(f.Name, 4)) = ".XML" Then
Debug.Print f.Name '<--Here's where you do what you need to do with teh XML files.
End If
Next f
ExitSub:
Set fd = Nothing
Set f = Nothing
Set fld = Nothing
Set fso = Nothing
End Sub

You'll need a reference set to the Microsoft Scripting Runtime Library for the above to work.

bdthomas02
07-24-2008, 06:07 AM