PDA

View Full Version : How To Count The Number Of Records Selected By AutoFilter

jershie
08-08-2008, 10:49 AM
I have set up a number of macros in an excel spreadsheet to essentially go into the AutoFilter column headings and filter based on certain requirements. I have a number of users that then run these macros and report their counts for the day (at the beginning and end). Essentially, I would like to remove the person from the reporting process, and find a way to count the number of records (in a separate sheet) resulting from each macro as it is activated. Any ideas?

Bob Phillips
08-08-2008, 10:51 AM
Use SpecialCell(xlCellTypeVisible) on the range being filtered.

jershie
08-08-2008, 11:10 AM
Any links that will help me set up this code? I'm relatively new to VB . . . Tried googling your response, but got some threads that were way over what I am trying to do & had conflicting statements from the various experts regarding the setup of the code . . .

The data I want to count is in worksheet "ROP Spread" & as each macro is run, I want to take the count (along with some type of identifying information in case the user activates the macro out of the intended sequence) and paste it into a worksheet entitled "Stats". My current macro coding is attached.

--------------------------------------------

Sub Insufficients_Part1()
'
' Insufficients_Part1 Macro
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+W
'
On Error Resume Next
Sheets("ROP Spread").Select
ActiveSheet.ShowAllData
Selection.AutoFilter Field:=13, Criteria1:="<0", Operator:=xlAnd
Range("A1").Select
End Sub

RonMcK
08-08-2008, 11:27 AM
Jershie,

Your first msg spoke of each his reporting their counts at the beginning and end of each day. Is the difference for a day for a user equal to the total of lines found by each macro the user runs?

You probably want to capture: date, time, computerID, user, name of macro, and number of lines, at least. Is there any other information that will help you with your audit trail?