PDA

View Full Version : Looping muliple related records

FrymanTCU
08-11-2008, 05:53 PM
Okay I'm still learning so any help is appreciated, I have gotten pretty decent at creating data input forms and reporting from them. But I want to use my table data to send an email but want the code to look and see if there are multiple accounts and include them in the message.

There are close to 6k accounts I will be notifying and I don't want to send an email for each account. So I have attached an blank mdb with a simplified version of the data. Can someone show me how to loop through the information so I send one email per user? All I need is it to Debug.Print the account numbers I can create the email later.

But I guess I'll just ask now, I know you can turn off the Outlook Preview option but if one of the address do not work will the macro fail or just pause on that record?

Like always thanks for all your help in advance!:help
-Rich

</IMG>

OBP
08-12-2008, 02:36 AM
Rich, before I look at your database, am I correct in assuming that you will have some kind of "trigger" or "flag" in the Accounts Table to identify which ones to include in your email list?

There are 2 ways to look at your data, the most common is to use a Recordset, but if you want to "see" what is happening with the records you could use a Form to step through the records, just in case there is something causing a problem. It would stop on that record and you can see the problem data.
If you are comfortable with just using the recordset then that is OK.

You can also use 2 different methods of looping through the data, you can use a Do Until loop using the End Of File (EOF) to stop the loop or you can establish the number of records and then use a For/Next loop to step through them.

FrymanTCU
08-12-2008, 06:12 AM