PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Validation List or a Combo Box



Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 11:37 AM
How do u see what has been selected in a comboBox in a cell and put that value in a cell? Or How do you change a Validation List on the basis that things can be added to the list in the future. B/C this is what im trying to do:

Depending on which customer gets selected from a list (Combo or Validation, but Validation if at all possible), I want all of that customers parts to be available in another cell. But lets say I change customers I want the parts cell to change. I attached the Spreadsheet that I need to make this work on if what I said isnt clear enuff.

Daxton:dunno

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 11:39 AM
I think what Dax wants is what we call "conditional" or "cascading" dropdowns.

If he picks Fruits from the first one, he wants peaches, pears, and apples to be the choices in the 2nd one.

If he picks Vegetables, he wants green beans, corn, and Dreamboat to show up in the 2nd one. LOL.

Oh, and Dax? I don't see an attachment. You can edit your post. :)

Zack Barresse
06-03-2004, 11:48 AM
Yes, and be extremely specific about what you are using. Whether it be controls (ActiveX), or Forms, or traditional Data Validation in-cell drop down boxes.

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 11:52 AM
I always forget to attach what i was going to attach:cool

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 11:55 AM
Who doesn't? LOL

Zack Barresse
06-03-2004, 12:10 PM
Okay, which file?

If June, can we change that to Data Validation, instead of a Forms Drop down box?

And what information are you wanting to be 'auto-populated'? the PO and on?

edit: Okay, I noticed that in the April 12.. file, you are using the Data Validation (DV). So are you working on both files, or just one? I'm confused now..not hard to do :giggle

mark007
06-03-2004, 12:53 PM
You could check out Kid Van Ouytsel's superb workbook included with this article:

http://www.markrowlinson.co.uk/xlvalidation.php

on my website. It's probably one of the best resources on Excel's data validation feature that there is.

:)

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 01:14 PM
I sent both files b/c i wanted to show the option of both of them. I'm only working on 1 file, but I save them as different names in case theres something that I changed that I need to go back to. And I like the validation ones too by the way.

I am wanting the customer cell which is in "Column C" & i want the Parts cell which is in "Column F"

I want to select a certain customer and have all their parts to be able to be chosen from a list. In other words: If Customer "Harman" is chosen, I want their list of speakers to be able to be chosen from. If i chose "Panasonic" i want their list of speakers to be able to be chosen from.

Im sorry if my 1st message wasnt clear enuff. I always do that. It doesnt matter how much I get into it. I never clear it up till a few responses later. Thats just my personality kickin in. :blush

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 01:19 PM
Admitting there's a problem is the first step to recovery.
http://smilies.sofrayt.com/%5E/w/super.gif

LOL!!
Hang in there, Dax!

Zack Barresse
06-03-2004, 01:21 PM
Okay, one more question. Is the product list going to be expanding? Or will you want to adjust everything manually when new products are introduced? If a more dynamic layout is your goal here, you may want to think about restructuring your data tables. This can be done easy enough though.

And don't worry 'bout not explainin' well enough, I do the same thing!

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 02:02 PM
The customers will look just like the "Add Part Form", and they will be adding customers and taking them away just like the Parts Form.

I have to make this Form by the time I go back to College in August, My last day is July 31. So i have, I feel, enuff time to finish it. The one that was made in April was the one i made just to get him started on it. Adding / Editing / Changing the parts is the other thing Im on now. I try to do everthing Dynamically b/c like I said, im going to college a couple of months down the road and I wont be here. So that if something goes wrong, they cant get me to change whatever to get it working again. If it is at all possible i would much rather it be a Validating List for all of the reasons that they are there. B/C im going to have to make a bunch of hidden combo boxes and hide them and have only the one being used to show up, its going to be i figure, about 100 or more because I have to make those extras for whenever parts are added. At the same time I want just the cells to be printed and not the cbo boxes so im going to have to have the cell say the same thing as the combo box and i dont want to do that.I REALLY DONT WANT TO DO THAT. LoL




Okay, one more question. Is the product list going to be expanding? Or will you want to adjust everything manually when new products are introduced? If a more dynamic layout is your goal here, you may want to think about restructuring your data tables. This can be done easy enough though.

And don't worry 'bout not explainin' well enough, I do the same thing!

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 02:05 PM
Dax: Who determined this should be Excel instead of Access?

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 02:27 PM
I did b/c i have never used access b4 and it would be alot easier in excel b/c i dont have to learn it.


Dax: Who determined this should be Excel instead of Access?

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 02:35 PM
I dont have enuff time to learn how to use Access.

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 02:37 PM
You probably wouldn't need to learn Access, Dax. You'll be fighting Excel all the way to do what Access does inherently. I'm gonna look at your file...

Daxton A.
06-03-2004, 02:46 PM
If you think i should use Access then thats what i'll use.


You probably wouldn't need to learn Access, Dax. You'll be fighting Excel all the way to do what Access does inherently. I'm gonna look at your file...

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 03:08 PM
Ok. Create a new database.
Follow the instructions here: www.theofficeexperts.com/access.htm (http://www.theofficeexperts.com/access.htm)
Pay attention to the field names and such.

One table for Mfrs.
MfgID (autonumber)
MfgName (what's in the Excel as their name)

One table for parts
PartID (autonumber)
PartNo (your part number)
PartDesc
PartMfr (this should be a lookup type field to the other table)

Dont' skip the captions.

I'm right here. Don't struggle. Ask. :)
You won't believe how easy.

Anne Troy
06-03-2004, 03:11 PM
You've got my email address. Once you're done that, or if you get stuck, email the DB to me.

Daxton A.
06-04-2004, 06:36 AM
I will make it and email you if I have any problems.
Thank you again:vv