PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Point And Figure Chart

nitzbar
08-20-2008, 08:26 AM
Does anyone have VBA code / Excel add-in to generate a point and figure chart in excel ?

Andy Pope
08-20-2008, 08:29 AM
Maybe this,
http://www.andypope.info/ngs/ng8.htm

nitzbar
08-20-2008, 05:04 PM
Hi Andy... thanks for the link.... Just a couple of questions.. I'm new to VBA so couldn't get the intricacies of your code, but you seem to be feeding in 'arranged' share prices into columns D &E . Any suggestions on how I can tweak it to use a live feed of data and parse it out?

Thanks.

Andy Pope
08-21-2008, 12:36 AM
I guess that would really depend on how you have your live data feed set up.

You would need to provide a lot more detail.

nitzbar
08-21-2008, 03:46 AM
I will be getting live price data into a spreadsheet as and when a trade occurs. I am looking at plotting a point and figure chart in real time based on the streaming prices.

Thanks.

Andy Pope
08-21-2008, 04:03 AM
Okay, but that is no more information than you posted before.

As you can tell by the date of the file I have not used this file for many years.
The input apears to be the High and Low price of share.

You need to transfer you information from feed cells to charting cells.

nitzbar
08-21-2008, 05:14 AM
Hmm.. well.. from what I understood... the prices seem to be arranged into 'high's and 'lows' from which the charting is done. I don't quite understand how those high and low prices are derived from a continuous stream of unsorted prices...... I guess that would have probably been mentioned in the example that you made this for....and since its an old file. you may not recollect it...

Is there anything specific that you need to know about the input / output ???

Andy Pope
08-21-2008, 05:23 AM
The site where I read about P+F is still active
www.stockcharts.com/education/how/analysistools/pnfcharts-print.html