PDA

View Full Version : Display info from Spreadsheet in listbox

AlvinChaand
09-19-2008, 03:37 AM
Hi,
I'm a newbie at VB so any help rendered will be really appreciated :)
:banghead:
How do I display info from a spreadsheet in a listbox on a userform, according to user search?

I have a userform which asks user to select Country from combobox1 and City from combobox2. When search is clicked, he is shown a list of towns in that city in the listbox.

How can i go about doing this?:dunno

Bob Phillips
09-19-2008, 03:57 AM
Public Sub LoadListbox(cty As String)
Dim cell As Range

With ActiveSheet

Me.ListBox1.Clear
For Each cell In .Range("A1:A20")

If cell.Value = cty Then

Me.ListBox1.AddItem cell.Offset(0, 1)
End If
Next cell
End With
End Sub

AlvinChaand
09-19-2008, 04:00 AM
Hi, sorry but could u explain more in depth what is meant to be done?
this is my first project and i am totally new at VB... i really appreciate the time and patience u've taken to help out
Hope to hear from u soon
Thanku

Bob Phillips
09-19-2008, 04:41 AM
That is a simple procedure to do waht you asked.

Pass the country as a parameter, and it will get the towns in coumn B associated with the rows where column A equals your nominated country.

AlvinChaand
09-19-2008, 04:52 AM
Hi
ok i shall try to explain further.... the reason why the user is to choose the country and city is because i have a list of countries ranging from A to Z

Example.
Country = USA
eg for USA i have CITIES= new york, chicago, new jersey etc
for Country= india i have CITIES= pune, mumbai, new delhi etc
so i want the user to be able to narrow his search. if he wants to view india, he selects india as the country
he selects mumbai as the city
and the listbox will display towns in mumbai

this is supposed to work for any other country as well eg Malaysia or Singapore or any i have on my country list

AlvinChaand
09-19-2008, 05:00 AM