PDA

View Full Version : Jump to another cell on a different sheet

tjtsantos
09-19-2008, 03:27 PM
Hi Guys,

Please help me. I hope you can picture this one.

I have a "Master" sheet which cell A1 named "Chapter1"; then I inserted a new sheet which has the same name "Chapter1". I can create a hyperlink from Master!A1 to go to sheet Chapter1!A1. My question is, what code can I use on Chapter1!A1 to go back to the cell that has "Chapter1" on the "Master" sheet (in my example has to be Master!A1).

Basically, I need a common code to check the name of the active sheet and use that to search a cell from the "Master" sheet that has the same name.

Thank you very much!

Tony

GTO
09-19-2008, 04:10 PM
When you say 'I have a "Master" sheet which cell A1 named "Chapter1"; ', are you saying that cell A1 now has the range name of 'Chapter1', or do you mean that the hyperlink displays this text?

Also, as you are putting hyperlinks on the first sheet, are you looking to insert hyperlinks on the other sheets, or a command button, or?

Mark

tjtsantos
09-19-2008, 04:48 PM
Hi Mark,

Thanks, they are just cell values. Let me put it this way

Sheet1=Master
---Cell A1=Chapter1
---Cell B1=Chapter2
---Cell C1=Chapter3
Sheet2=Chapter1 -> has link go back to Sheet1!A1
Sheet3=Chapter2 -> has link go back to Sheet1!B1
Sheet4=Chapter3 -> has link go back to Sheet1!C1

I can just use hyperlink to jump from Sheet1 to the appropriate sheet. However, I would like to have a go back button on each sheet that will jump to Sheet1!A1, Sheet1!B1 accordingly. If I use hyperlink to go back, i will have problems when I insert in-between columns on sheet1.

NEW!

Sheet1=Master
---Cell A1=Chapter1
---Cell B1=Chapter1.5
---Cell C1=Chapter2
---Cell D1=Chapter3
Sheet2=Chapter1 -> has link go back to Sheet1!A1 (correct)
Sheet5=Chapter1.5 -> will have link to go back to Sheet1!B1
Sheet3=Chapter2 -> still has link go back to Sheet1!B1 (wrong!)
Sheet4=Chapter3 -> still has link go back to Sheet1!C1 (wrong!)