PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Advice, please - VBA vs. Visual Basic.Net

JWhite
09-21-2008, 06:52 PM
I have an Excel add-in application for corporate finance groups which started out fairly simple but has gradually morphed into a fairly compex application. I'm an experienced programmer but NOT in VBA or anything like that until this project. Our small company's expertise is more in the server side of large ERP databases but we've discovered ways to use VBA with Excel 2007 to make our data much more useable.

Now we have several companies interested in the product and the prospect of a wider market. We're already running into companies that don't allow VBA on desktops due to security concerns and I've run into my own problems with installing VBA add-ins in a corporate network environment that are concerning me.

We've talked with some fairly experienced people who say it's time to make the move to Visual Basic.Net or C# if we're really planning to sell this to a large audience - which we are. I'm groaning at the idea of converting 3,000+ lines of VBA code plus 10 Userforms which, apparently, aren't supported AT ALL outside of VBA . Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated.

malik641
09-21-2008, 07:16 PM
For moving to VB.NET:
How much of a headache you will have will depend on how structured your code is. If you have a lot of recorded macros, for example, it won't be fun converting that code. Otherwise, I don't think it will be too bad. VBA is basically a subset of VB 6.0 and VB.NET supports a lot of VB 6.0 features (from what I've experienced converting VBA/VB code).

You can probably get away without converting much with Visual Studio Tools for Office:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visual_Studio_Tools_for_Office
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/office/aa905533.aspx

XLDennis does pretty extensive work in VSTO:
http://xldennis.wordpress.com/
http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/showthread.php?t=160459
http://www.excelkb.com/article.aspx?id=10185