PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Protection for Excel Sheet

dillon65
03-10-2005, 07:01 PM
Hell everyone:

I have written a script for an invoice, which I need to send to a prospective client.

I am very new to programming, I have used the search help files, however, there are so many proctection for objects, Protection for property.

All I want to do is protect the actual VBA, so that the end user cannot change the script.

"Don't forget to cover 'Cut' as well as 'Copy' and to protect your VBA with a password."

How do I do the above:help

Thanks in advance

Dillon

MWE
03-10-2005, 07:25 PM
VBA code is in one of the VBAProject modules for the xls file. Open the VB editor and right click on the VBAProject. Navigate to VBAProject Properties and then to the Protection Tab. Click the Lock project for viewing box and enter a relevant password (twice). Make sure you write down the password Click OK. The VBAProject remains viewable until you save and close the file. When you reopen the file and attempt to view the VBA code, you will be asked for the password. .

This method is pretty secure. There are ways to crack it but I suspect that this is adequate for your purposes -- after all, you are probably just trying to keep honest people honest.

You may also want to consider adding code to the Workbook_Open procedure to quit the application if certain criteria are not met. For example, you may wish to supply the VBA script(s) to the client for a month of evaluation. You could add a date check in the Workbook_Open proc to ensure that the client only gets 30 days of free evaluation. A really smart client can get around that by resetting the system clock. You can circumvent that by writing "check data" to a hidden and protected sheet so you will know if the client fiddles with the system clock.

dillon65
03-10-2005, 08:38 PM
Hello MWE:

I looked through the bible for 97, and I found the procedure, however, I use Excel 2002.