PDA

View Full Version : Need front end for db form??

grichey
10-03-2008, 06:26 AM
Hey,
I have never done something like this before so before I jump in, I thought it better to see what method of attack is the best.

I have what is currently in .xls format, a 350 row database with 29 columns. The goal is to make some sort of form that allows to search by various characteristics like name in one box or market cap range X to Y in another and have the data dumped in a new sheet.

Access isn't out of the question if you think that would be much easier.

I appreciate the help.

Demosthine
10-03-2008, 03:40 PM
Hey there Gavin.

First, let me mention that it sounds like your easiest option would be to use Excel's built-in AutoFilter feature. First, make your ActiveCell one of your Header Cells in your Table. Then, go to the Data Menu and select Filter. Select the AutoFilter command.

Otherwise:

Interestingly enough, if you have an Excel Worksheet set up correctly, you can use standard SQL Query Statements to access the data. This means that you can take the "Table" and run the query using your column headers and such.

Now, one thing I must mention is that there are certain requirements for this to work correctly.

01.) Excel seems to always evaluate the first Row of the Range as a Header. Each cell in the Header equates to the Field in an Access Table.

02.) Each Column must contain data of the same type. Based on the very first Row of your data, (not your Header Row), it will set the Field Type of that Column. Any data in subsequent Rows that does not fit that Type is conveniently ignored.

Now, once you have ensured that the data is set up correctly, you'll want to create a UserForm with the Query Options on it. You'll have to decide how detailed you want to allow the Query. Remember, the more detailed, the more programming you have to do to ensure the SQL Statement executes perfectly.