PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Add data to a closed workbook

phendrena
10-03-2008, 08:34 AM
Hi,

I'm extremely new to VBA and I am looking for some advice and pointers on how best to do what I want.

I currently have a workbook setup that uses a Uder Form which submits data to worksheet within the same workbook. The workbook itself has now become rather large and as such I was wondering if it is possible to have the User Form in workbook A and have it add the data to Workbook B instead of a seperate sheet in workbook A.

Ideally (and much into the future) I would like to setup links between excel and access.

For now though would anyone please be able to suggest some ideas and possibly sample code that I could study/use/adapt.

I've attached a copy of my workbook for you to view.

Many thanks

fb7894
10-03-2008, 08:51 AM
Sounds like you're Workbook B is acting as a database. Maybe you'd have better luck if the UserForm in Workbook A updated an Access db?

phendrena
10-03-2008, 08:56 AM
Sounds like you're Workbook B is acting as a database. Maybe you'd have better luck if the UserForm in Workbook A updated an Access db?Ideally that is something that I would like to do. At the moment we are only using workbook A so it has the User Form and the database on a seperate worksheet. My skills with excel and access, don't currently, strech to linking between the two applications but this is something that I am work on.

CreganTur
10-03-2008, 09:07 AM
Which UserForm writes to which worksheet?

phendrena
10-03-2008, 09:15 AM
Which UserForm writes to which worksheet?
frmCanxData to CanxData & frmIVRData to IVRData

CreganTur
10-03-2008, 10:01 AM
The only way I know to do this involves opening the workbook, inserting your data, and then closing it again.

I'd suggest setting the value of a variable as the filepath to your 'database' workbook:
Dim wb As Workbook
Set wb = workbooks.open "FilePath"