PDA

View Full Version : Find group of records that match index and then do xxx

YellowLabPro
10-08-2008, 05:55 AM
I could use some help here: It has been a while since I have critically thought and wrote code, so some hand holding would be appreciated greatly.

My goal is to evaluate if an item that is in-stock physically, which is recorded in my store point of sale, and if it is missing its image on my website online store.

I have a master inventory report that contains all the items and their information, this is generated from the store's point of sale software. I export this report out to Excel.

I generate a report that tells me if a product image is missing from my website for an item. This report is in an Excel worksheet natively.

My inventory records are either A) Parent item w/ children, B) Children, C) Parents w/out children.
For example:
"~P GL1ENTSBK" is a shoe and has the following records:
"~C GL1ENTSBK10", "~C GL1ENTSBK11", "~C GL1ENTSBK12".

"~P GL1ENTSBK" is the parent and has a qty of 1998, which is for reference purposes only.

"~C GL1ENTSBK10", "~C GL1ENTSBK11", "~C GL1ENTSBK12" are the children items and would contain inventory qtys. of 2, 1, 0, hypothetically.

A Parent record w/out children would be an item such as a watch, it has no items w/ sizes, and is reflected as "~P NI1SURBK", and would have a real count of lets say 2.

Note: When presented to the public on the website the "~P" and "~C" are removed from the title.

Here is my problem:
The report that is generated from the website for items missing their product photos may or may not have a qty greater than zero b/c it looks at the parent's count which is 1998, not at the children's count.