PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Macro help: Loops

Dio
10-12-2008, 01:36 AM
Hello,

I have to write a macro for work that will check to see if a customer is saving at least 15% or more over our price. Using Excel I write a formula that does this:

=1-((retail price) / (list price)) then format that cell as a percentage.

I then alter the list price until the percentage goes up to 15%. I do this for rows and rows of products.

I'm just getting started on the script and to get familiar with VBA I made the following macro and it works for calculating the savings, but doesn't alter the list price for me.

Option Explicit
Sub Savings()

Dim Savings As Single
Dim map_price As Single
Dim list_price As Single
map_price = Range("B2").Value
list_price = Range("A2").Value
Savings = 1 - (map_price / list_price)
Range("C2").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = Savings
Selection.NumberFormat = "0%"

End Sub

I found an example of a Do Until loop and thought I would use that to increment the list price until the condition of map_price + 15% is met, but I couldn't figure it out. If you want I can paste the code for the Do Until loop, but it's just botched at this point.

Question 1: What type of loop, if any, do I need to adjust the list price?

Question 2: Can you give me an example of how to use my existing code in a loop?

Thanks,

Dio

Bob Phillips
10-12-2008, 02:19 AM
Sub Savings()
With Range("C2")

.GoalSeek Goal:=0.15, ChangingCell:=Range("B2")
.NumberFormat = "0%"
End With
End Sub

Dio
10-12-2008, 02:32 AM
Thanks for the quick response. I tried that out and received the following error:

Run-time error '1004'
Reference is not valid.

Debugging it highlights the following line:

Bob Phillips
10-12-2008, 02:49 AM
Do you have GoalSeek installed?

Dio
10-12-2008, 03:02 AM
No I don't, does it cost money?

I have Excel 2007 if that matters at all.

Bob Phillips
10-12-2008, 04:24 AM
It should be there, on the Data tab, Data Tools group, within the What If Analysis dropdown.