PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Using a function in another function

RadBrad
10-12-2008, 12:49 PM
First, please understand that I am self-taught (I know!), I have searched this site for the answer and the questions on this site are well beyond my scope. I am having problems understanding how to call a sub or a function from another function.

I have this function that calculates the lineal inches of material used to make metal pipe:

Public Function SpiralInches(ByVal diameter As Single, ByVal length As Single)

Dim a As Single
Dim b As Single

a = diameter
b = length

Dim pi As Single
pi = 3.14159

SpiralInches = (a * pi) * b / 4.74

End Function
I would like to use this formula in other equations, for example, to divide it by 12 to get the footage. This is as far as I get:

Public Function SpiralLF(ByVal diameter As Single, ByVal length As Single)

SpiralLF() = SpiralInches() / 12
End Function
The error I get is that SpiralInches "Argument not optional".

The first function works fine by itself in the worksheet (i.e. I can assign a cell to each variable and it calculates properly) and I realize that I can add the first function to a cell and divide it by 12 at that point. But I really want to understand how to call the first function in a second one.

I've tried to make SpiralInches a sub, both Public and Private, I've tried dimensioning different variables within the second function, and I've tried a "Call" to the first function, all for naught. I can't seem to pass the results of the first function to the second one properly and any help with this would be GREATLY appreciated!

I am using Excel2003.

Thanks in advance!
Brad

Demosthine
10-12-2008, 01:31 PM
Good Afternoon.

You have two problems with your code...

In your SpiralLF Function, you receive the Diameter and Length, but you fail to pass them to your SpiralInches Function.