PDA

View Full Version : Query parts of a field? (hopefully without Regular Expressions)

debauch
10-14-2008, 05:48 PM
Hi,

Is is possible to query 'part' of a field so that you only return that 'part'? What I am doing, is trying to automate alerts/notications through outlook. Currently, I am downloading a folder from outlook into access and I want to send those emails out to specific email addresses based on another table. Problem is, what I need to join the two table together by is embeded in the "body" field.

Example, lets say the data in the "body" fields looks as such:

Type: HIGH
user: USERA
Result: EMAIL-22

Is there a way to query the field "body" to only return the word "userA" (or whatever user shows in the field).

I tried thing similar to - select * from TABLEA where Body like *USERA* but it just brings back the whole field. Is my only option regular expressions? Im not very good at these :dunno

Sugguestions, ideas? What is the best way to tackle this? I also thought about using things left right, right mid, but placement varies slightly for some of the emails.

OBP
10-15-2008, 03:41 AM
What you need is a VBA function to find the User name that is "called" from the query.
I would search for the word "user:", when you have found that use search for the character that denotes the end of the "user" data.
When you have those 2 positions all of the data in between would be the User name.

debauch
10-15-2008, 04:54 AM
Do you know where I might be able to find a similar sample to what you mean? A 'search' function of a field would be awesome. Even a tip on 'calling' a function in access, I would be grateful. I am pretty good w/ SQL Server, but Access syntax is a little different.

OBP
10-15-2008, 11:46 AM
This database has the Query calling a VBA Function Module (Expr1 in Query 2)
and doing the same thing with a Query Expression (Expr1 in Query 3).