PDA

View Full Version : General Build Questions

MagicMike
10-21-2008, 08:19 AM
Hello everyone.

I am quite new to all this but I am enjoying learning and struggling through all of the things that I am trying to accomplish. Being new at this and not having any formal training I am running into a small problem with knowing where all of my code is going. I have 4 different books (2 on VBA in excel and 2 on VB2008) and I'm having difficulty in VBA with where I should put the code for specific things and finding data in large modules without having to scroll through the entire thing.
My question is this: Is there a typical format or structure that is learned when starting to write code? How do I organize the code better? I am trying to use different modules where I can but in large forms the data gets unruley.
I have experience in siemens step 7 ladder logic programming and that seems alot more intuitive but I find myself a bit lost in VB and not knowing where to put things.
Any help or suggestions would be great. There are alot of very talented people on here from what I have seen.

Thanks,

Mike

Also, I searched around and was not sure where to make this post so I hope I was close :doh:

Dr.K
10-21-2008, 08:37 AM
Well, sites like this are your best resource. Also, I like Bill Jelen's VBA book.

A common nomenclature is to use lowercase prefixes before every thing you name, so that they type of variable/object is immediately clear.

Integer Variables: intRow, intStartCount, intTemp
String Variables: strUserName, strInputText, strTemp

General Objects: objFS, objAccessApp
Excel Objects: Workbook = wb, Worksheet = wks, Range = rng

For UserForms, I use uf for the form, and ufo for a specific instance:
Dim ufoGetPerf As New ufGetPerf