PDA

View Full Version : Copy inputbox-selection of multiple files in a new spreadsheet on new rows

nanjeh
11-14-2008, 09:33 AM
Dear experts,

I've been buisy with this script for two and a half day now, and i'm about to give up. I managed to make a script for opening a folder with workbooks and preform the same recorded macro on the maps in the folder (with browsing). I'm new to VBA so i was quite content with myself (if you're interested i can post the script).
The next horde i had to take though, was getting information from those same workbooks in a new workbook. For instance, in the folder (which i want to declare by browsing; but i think i already tackled that) are 10 files with similar structure but with other data. I want to make a script where i can copy the information in cell A:A1 of file1 in the cell A:A1 of NewWorkbook and then copy cell A:A1 of file2 in cell A:B1 of NewWorkbook and so on, untill all A:A1 cells of all files are in NewWorkbook (looping). Oh, and I need to specify the cells i want to copy by an Inputbox, so that others can use the tool too, without having to adjust the script. Here's my script i made so far, with two functions (one for browsing the map and one for the inputbox for the cells to be copied) and the sub where i'm stuck in. I really hope somebody's kind enough to help me out. Thanks in advance, Nanjeh

Option Explicit

Function BrowseForFolder(Optional OpenAt As Variant) As Variant
'Function purpose: To Browser for a user selected folder.
'If the "OpenAt" path is provided, open the browser at that directory
'NOTE: If invalid, it will open at the Desktop level

Dim ShellApp As Object

'Create a file browser window at the default folder
Set ShellApp = CreateObject("Shell.Application"). _
BrowseForFolder(0, "Please choose a folder", 0, OpenAt)

'Set the folder to that selected. (On error in case cancelled)
On Error Resume Next
BrowseForFolder = ShellApp.self.Path
On Error GoTo 0

'Destroy the Shell Application