PDA

View Full Version : arrays

kwaku101
11-15-2008, 10:32 AM
Can someone explain arrays in its simplistic form or concept. I'm new to excel vba and have difficulty with arrays, especially using them with loops....also do arrays always correspond to columns and loops to rows?

Thanks in advance, your help is much appreciated.

lucas
11-15-2008, 10:45 AM
Just to get this conversation started.........

From the help file:

The required arglist argument is a comma-delimited list of values that are assigned to the elements of the array contained within the Variant.

You can create the list like this:

Sub InsertHeaderRow()
Dim myarray As Variant
myarray = Array("Heading 1", "Heading 2", "Heading 3", "Heading 4", "Heading 5")
Range("a1:e1").Value = myarray
MsgBox myarray(2)
End Sub

which will put a header row in the active sheet and return in a messagebox the index number 2 from the array. Notice when you run it that it returns "Heading 3"

That is because array index begins with 0 not 1. This is important and I believe you can change it to begin with 1 by using option base 1 at the top of the module......don't see the reason to do that though as long as you understand that it begins with 0 unless you address that issue.

Oorang
11-15-2008, 10:46 AM
Ok first you have a variable. Think of a variable as a cell where you store a value in memory. Give the cell a name, "MyVariable". Store data in it MyVariable=1, retrieve data from it, MsgBox MyVariable. Simple.
Well an array is like a variable, but instead of being a cell, it's a column. (Hence the name, it's a vast array of variables:).) You can store data in an array just like you do a variable you just have to specify the "row". MyVariable(10) = 1 put the data in row 10, MyVariable(9) = 2 puts 2 in row 9 and so on.