PDA

View Full Version : Export Excel data to Word template

da_phat
11-17-2008, 08:56 PM
hi,
i am quite new in VBA programming. I would like to ask all the experts here to help me on implementing small and simple project.

I have an excel file which contain a data with column Name, Address 1, Address 2, Suburb, State, Postcode. i have about 200 data in each of the column. Then i would like to export the data in all the column into a customised word template then i would like to print the template. If there are 200 data, i would like to print 200 template which contain the data in specific field in the template.

Hereby i attach the sample of sample of word template. The data should be written on the box with the red oval.

Hope all the experts can help me here.

GTO
11-17-2008, 10:12 PM
Greetings da_phat,

Assuming you have the Excel data distributed as shown (if not, maybe show us), could you say where ea data is going?

I think partly this may be language, as I suspect suburb equals city, etc. But just to be sure for thick-headed guys like me, how about a description like:

Name = Thomas
Address1 =
Address2 =
Poct Code = 3500

Thank you so much and hope to help,

Mark

da_phat
11-17-2008, 10:27 PM
Hi,
thank you for replying. The description as follows

Name: Thomas
Address 1: Unit 14
Address 2 670-675 Dandenong Road
Suburb:Springvale
State:VIC
Postcode:3500

GTO
11-18-2008, 12:51 AM
Hi da_phat,

Since I already wrote in Early Binding (convenience), I included both late and early bound versions. Personally, I've never seen a noteable difference in speed, not to mention you'll be waiting on printing anyways, so I would suggest you just use the 'MailList_Create_LateBound()'.

This is certainly a bit of "rude and crude" coding, as I suspect that a mail merge might be more efficient; but, since I don't often use Word (programattically), I just installed some bookmarks in your template, and use them to insert the various text values.