PDA

View Full Version : Dates

wiganbhoy
11-28-2008, 05:52 AM
I need to have a field which has a drop down box with Urgen, Imediate and Routine. This in turn needs to auto populate a field called respond by with the date being current, 3 days from current and 7 days from current . Can this be done without code as complete newbie or any help would be great.

Ta:thumb

CreganTur
11-28-2008, 07:53 PM
Welcome to the forum- it's always good to see new members!

Can this be done without code as complete newbie or any help would be great.
Nope, this will require some VBA, but it's the perfect opportunity for you to learn!

Now, you'll need to create 2 objects on your form, specific to this issue: a combobox- set the properties to Items in List and create a list by hand with the values Urgent, Immediate, and Routine.

The second object is a textbox.

You'll need to give each of these items a unique name- using the default names is bad practice and can cause problems: for this example the combobox's name is cboStatus, and the textbox is txtDate.

Now, go back to your combobox's property sheet. On the Event Tab, click on the AfterUpdate property and click on the build button (...); if a popup appears select Code Window.

Here's the soce you would use:
If cboStatus = "Urgent" Then
txtDate = Date()
ElseIf cboStatus = "Immediate" Then
txtDate = Date + 3
ElseIf cboStatus = "Routine" Then
txtDate = Date + 7
End If

HTH:thumb

wiganbhoy
12-02-2008, 02:06 AM
:beerchug: Thanks I'm only in office few hours today but will do this tomorrow and reply. Many thanks for the trouble you went to.

KTF
Wiganbhoy

wiganbhoy
12-02-2008, 02:57 AM
I have a message from start in my respond box "#Name?" am I doing something wrong?

CreganTur
12-02-2008, 06:02 AM
Is your "respond box" the combobox or the textbox?

Check the row source; make sure it's setup correctly.

If you can't figure out the issue please post an example database that shows this form so I can see exatly what's going on.