PDA

View Full Version : Combine several columns from one table to one column in another table?

nathan2314
12-02-2008, 09:33 AM
:hi:
Hi All,
I'm very new at Access and am building a database with several tables.
I have a 'family' table that has all the family members for each PERSON in the database. The 'family' table uses a lookup up table to allow the user to select the 'family member type' when inputing a family member for the PERSON in the database.
So now I have another table where I need to input important people that know each PERSON and their spouse. So I have a Person_ID that identifies the PERSON being looked at (This is also in the 'family' table) in the new table. But now I would like to add the PERSON's spouse name in ONE text field (say called 'SpouseName') by going back to the 'family' table and matching the PERSON_ID and 'family member type' as spouse (spouse is 'family member type'=3 in the lookup table being used in the 'family' table) and then putting this in the 'SpouseName' column of the new table. But the names in the family table are in three different columns ('firstname' middlename' and 'lastname').
How can I do this. I've been fooling around with the 'Row Souce' field in the 'Lookup' tab of the new table but not getting it to work??? :doh:

Appreciate any Help!!

OBP
12-02-2008, 09:53 AM
In general it is not good practice to duplicate data in a second Table.
I can however understand why you wish to, what you should do is just refer to the Name in the Family Table using it's ID.
If you really want to combine the Names in to one name the best place to do it is in a Query.
You can use a new Column and type in fullname: [firstname] & " " & [middlename] & " " & [lastname]

nathan2314
12-02-2008, 10:17 AM
Hi